Monday Stories: Wears the Love: The Story Behind the Song

By Jill Dyson Edited by Jamie Baddorf

I make many choices in my life. Every day I choose the foods we will eat as a family, which way to travel around the city on our marathon errand running, and which method of discipline to use on my 3 boys as they are home all…summer…long…

Each morning I choose the clothes, shoes and accessories I will wear (though much of the time I default to a tee-shirt, jeans and tennis shoes uniform). Much like my apparel, I also need to choose to wear certain attitudes; patience, kindness, gentleness, selflessness, etc… Of all the items, tangible or intangible that I choose to wear, the greatest one is love.

1 Corinthians 13:13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

Sometimes, putting on love comes easy, like when my children are behaving well, when a friend drops by with a plate of cookies (yes I do have a friend who does), or when my husband decides to hang up his clothes in the closet instead of on the floor. Other times, though, it takes everything in me to choose love. In those moments, I find myself asking God, “How am I supposed to do this? I realize that this “hard to love” person is your son or daughter, but they are DRIVING ME CRAZY!!”

God knew when He made us that our struggle to exemplify perfect love would be a tough one. That is why He sent His son Jesus to personify Love. Christ wore the love during his 33 years on earth and we see the ultimate cost of that love on His hands and feet. Yes, the scars of Jesus are a perfect example of God’s unfailing, undying, unconditional love.

I wrote the song “Wears the Love” with Bruce Carroll, Donna Hauth, and Stephanie Wachob for a Women’s event featuring Shari Braendel. Shari has a fabulous speaking ministry called “What To Wear” where she uses her expertise to advise women on choosing their best colors and clothes based on their individuality (You can find out more about Shari’s ministry at www.sharibraendel.com).

Wears the Love is available on our website now, and will launch i-tunes on June 27th!  Catch live interviews with Jill about the song Tuesday, June 28th on the Kix 106 morning show, and Wednesday, June 29 on Live at 9, WREG channel 3 in Memphis!

Share the love with your friends and family by sending them a copy from our website!

Thanks so much for your support!

This entry was posted in Monday Stories, The Story Behind the Shirt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Stories: Wears the Love: The Story Behind the Song

  1. Thank you, Jill. Your words always inspire me. You have the right words at the right time. Thank you for sharing. You are a wonderful writer! Just one of your many talents!

  2. Lucy Long says:

    Wonderful! Look so forward to seeing and hearing you sing and share on the many open doors God
    Has provided for such a beautidul, anointed, gifted woman! Love to you

  3. Great article Jill…

  4. aNN says:

    cant wait to hear Jill I just know it will be beautiful just as you are beautiful and I LOVE YOU SWEETIE

Leave a Reply

